The Calling by Suzanne Woods Fisher


The Calling by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Published: 2014

Publisher: Revell

Series: Inn at Eagle Hill(Book 2)

Goodreads Summary: Twenty-year-old Bethany Schrock is restless. Her love life has derailed, her faith hangs by a thread, and she is spending the incredibly hot summer days wading through a lifetime’s accumulation of junk at the home of five ancient Amish sisters. About the only thing that holds her interest is the spirited and dangerously handsome Jimmy Fisher–and he seems bent on irritating her to no end.
When the sly old sisters and a guest at the Inn get Bethany involved in running the local soup kitchen and starting a community garden, she suddenly finds herself wondering, Shootfire! How did that happen? Despite her newfound purposefulness, a gnawing emptiness about a childhood mystery continues to plague her. Encouraged by Jimmy Fisher, she will seek out the answers she craves–and uncover a shocking secret that will break her heart, heal it, and point her to love.

     Bethany is working to clean out the house of the five sisters home so they can host church. She thought the group of sisters where just old and liked to collects things but she soon finds out there is more to them then that. She is also still getting over the man she had seen, has up and disappeared and likely helped to ruin her father’s business. Jimmy is someone she thought was immature and not worth her notice but as she gets to know him she finds herself attracted to him. While she is working to clean out the sisters home she learns they run a soup kitchen once a month and as she and more and more of her community help out each week they find themselves learning to see their neighbors in a new light.

     This is book two in the series. I have not read the first book yet this book can be read as a stand alone though you will have a better idea who people are if you read the first one as this is a continuing story. The author does a decent job bring the readers up to speed from the first book.

What I liked: The author is well-known for her deeper plots and this book and series is no exception. The family is dealing with the backlash of a failed business. The father is dead and the brother has run off. There are a few characters telling this story. I like the complexity and how well the story comes together as the book progresses. I found all the characters quite likable.

What I did not like: This book is good but the plot was a little slow at times. Fishers books always have a lot going on in them and it can take a little time to get all the subplots figured out and with a few characters telling the story I don’t always feel like I get to know the main characters as well as I would like.

     Overall this was a good book and I am looking forward to the third book in the series to see how it all plays out. Towards the end I found myself more interested in the next book than how this book was going to finish up. If you’re looking for a light quick read this book is not for you but if you like books with a strong story and some twists and turns than this is a good series for you. I would highly recommend going back and reading the first book though. You don’t have to but it’s the back story and I wonder had I read it first maybe this book would have been more enjoyable to me.

Book Rating

Buy From



 16241723 18096354  

DISCLOSURE: I was provided a free copy of this ebook from the publisher through NetGalley to review it. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.


2014 Reviews, 4 Stars, Amish Fiction, Inn at Eagle Hill, NetGalley, Revell, Romance, Suzanne Woods FisherPermalink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *