Beyond These Hills by Sandra Robbins


Beyond These Hills by Sandra Robbins

Published: 2013

Publisher: Harvest House

Series: Smoky Mountain Dreams(Book 3)

Goodreads Summary: It’s 1935, and Laurel Jackson fears the life she’s always known is about to become a memory. The government is purchasing property to establish the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and nearly all the families in Cades Cove have decided to sell. Laurel is determined to save the land her family has lived on for a hundred years.
Andrew Brady, the son of a wealthy Virginia congressman, arrives in the Cove to convince the remaining landowners to sell. Sparks fly when he meets Laurel, the outspoken young woman who is determined to thwart his every effort. Will they ever be able to put aside their differences and accept what their hearts already know?

     This is book three of the series Smoky Mountain Dreams. The end of Cades Cove is in sight as the land is being bought up to turn into a national park and there are only a few hold outs the main ones being Laurel’s family. The government sends in Andrew Brady to get the last few hold outs to sell. As he gets to know Laurel and her family he not only falls in love with her he struggles to do the job he was sent to do.

     Laurel is the granddaughter of Anna from book one and the daughter of Rani from book two. I enjoyed the last book of the series.

What I liked: This series is very intertwined and its important to read all three books in order. Laurel is a likable character and so is Andrew. I also enjoyed how the characters from the first two books were included in this book. These books are very much about a family and I liked that.

What I did not like: My only real problem with this story was how fast Laurel and Andrew fell in love. They really did not get to know each other that well so it seemed unbelievable to me.

    Overall this was a good book and it did a great job wrapping up the series.

Book rating

Buy From



     I enjoyed this series. I liked how each book was the next generation. It was fun to see how the cove changed and how the people developed as the years went on. The author did a great job telling the main characters story without overshadowing with the characters from the past books. I also thought the series wrapped up nicely though I wonder if there could be a spin-off book about Laurel’s brother. I highly recommend this series!

Series rating



DISCLOSURE: I was provided a free copy of this ebook from the publisher through NetGalley to review it. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

2013 Reviews, 4 Stars, Harvest House, Historical Fiction, NetGalley, Romance, Sandra Robbins, Series, Smoky Mountain DreamsPermalink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *