A Lady in the Making by Susan Page Davis


A Lady in the Making by Susan Page Davis

Published: 2012

Publisher: Barbour Books

Series: Prairie Dreams(Book 3)

Goodreads Summery:  Millie Evans has changed, choosing to leave rather than join an outlaw gang with her brother. Hoping for a new future, she boards a stagecoach but runs into her past and David Stone—a man she and her brother once tried to swindle. As she tries to convince David she’s changed, her brother’s gang holds up the stagecoach. Fighting beside David goes a long way to softening his heart, but he’s still not convinced. Millie must trust God to show David the truth, but will he see before it’s too late?

     Millie has changed her life since she last saw David Stone. She is no longer on the wrong side of the law and is working hard to live a good life. As she boards a stage coach she can hardly believe her eyes when one of the other passengers is David Stone! Can Millie prove to him she is a changed woman? David wants nothing to do with Millie but fate finds them stuck together after a bad accident. Slowly David starts to see the new Millie and finds his heart may be in jeopardy of trusting her again. Can these two find love after all they have been through?

     This is book three and the final book of the series. Both Millie and David where also in book one and two so I was interested to see how their story played out.

What I liked: Millie and David are first introduced in book one so it was nice to get to know them in book three. I liked Millie a lot. Even though she had made bad choices she was working hard to do right. I also like the lesson of once your sins are forgiven your truly forgiven and can start fresh and live for God with out fear of being punished for past sins.

What I did not like: This book was kind of slow. The author spends a lot of time on details which is fine but there where area where I just wanted to move on. Also there where not a lot of side characters in this book so it even felt a little boring at times. There was Merrileigh Stone and her brother but I was not drawn into their characters like I had hoped. It’s not hard to figure out how the book was likely to end but it seems to take forever to get there.

     Over all this was an okay book. The author does do a great job of describing people and places and its easy to feel like your their with the characters. If you enjoy historical fiction you might like this book. Read some other reviews and decide for yourself. I also suggest you start with book one in the series or you will be confused with the over all storyline.

Book Rating


Steamy Rating

Buy From




     This series was not bad but it was not great either. Historically I really liked this book. Book one centered around the Oregon Trail and it really opened my eyes to just how hard it was to come west back then. Book two had quite a bit of excitement relative to suspense that you come to expect when dealing with cowboys and the west. Book three spends a lot of time talking about traveling on a stage coach and I admit I am very glad we don’t have to travel that way anymore! The over all storyline of the three books was okay but I did not love it. There where slow parts that I really felt I had to force myself to keep reading. It is also a good idea to start with book one or parts of the story in the other two books will be confusing.

Series Rating

Series Steamy Rating


DISCLOSURE: I was provided a free copy of this ebook from the publisher through NetGalley to review it. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

2012 Reviews, 3 Stars, Barbour Books, Historical Fiction, Prairie Dreams, Romance, Susan Davis, Western RomancePermalink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *